Poetry Packed Out: A Shining Example

As an explication of my poem “Virtue” and the recent news of my Dear friend, the late Joe Defino Sr, passing on, I wanted to share with you all, Dear Readers, what I shared on my social media:

“I ask my Friends to keep the Defino family in their thoughts and prayers as they all mourn the loss of their father and Grandfather, Joseph Defino Sr.

I have the pleasure of knowing the Defino family for over 30 years, starting with Joe, then getting to know the rest of the family over that time. You could feel the warmth, acceptance, love and faith that they had, then as now.

Without a doubt, I could trace it back to Joe Sr and his late wife, Beverly, whom are now reunited in Heaven.

If the measure of a man, a faithful man, a kind man, a wise man and a patient man is an indication of whom he is, then Joe Sr and his family by extension, is the gold standard, a standard that I hope to be a fraction of someday.

Rest in Peace, Joe Sr, thank you for your example and God Bless You!!”

Joe Sr, simply put, was a man of virtue, whenever it came to teaching, coaching, his battle for the sanctity of human life he gave his all.He was a local member of the Cursillo movement, an Roman Catholic community that, in short, does what it can to evangelize in the community, to make a friend, be a friend and bring them to Christ. He did that so well, simply and intellegently, as was his way. If you’re a Roman Catholic and someone asks you to be a part of the Cursillo movement, do it, don’t think about it, do it. Speaking from first hand experience, it’ll change the way you look at life and give you His Hope.

He was an inspiration to so many in the community, myself included. He put his Faith, his family and his community first. He was the epitome of the above poem “Virtue” and I only hope that I do my part to make him proud, in some small way.

God Bless You, Joe Sr!!

Until next post, Dear Readers, stay safe, stay strong and, as always…..

Shine On!! DeColores!!

Nonetheless

with those;

others seem

as like a small river,

blocked only by

one’s evil desires.

The heart knows

whatever keys

to unlock

whatever

virtues lie inside,

all one needs:

courage

heart

to dig deeply

into oneself

,

Leave a comment