Grounding In A Crisis

-with thanks to a new local friend, Rabbi Zoe, for her video on grounding, which inspired this blog post

During this coronavirus chaos, Dear Readers, I’m sure you all have been trying to keep yourself busy and not go stir crazy about the current situation. I know that it’s not been a easy challenge, Spectrumite or not, for us to adapt to restrictions that we’re not used to..ever.

It’s of paramount importance during these unnerving times for us to keep ourselves busy and do what we feel is necessary to keep our spirits up. So I want to ask a question to you all, Dear Readers, what do you do to keep yourself busy; what grounds you?

Myself, I’ve found myself working on things that I had long since put off for a while, mostly due to my busy schedule. I’ve been working on some new projects for the Literacy Program I do for the ARC Mid Hudson.

I’ve also found myself grounding in my poetry, I’m doing all I can to learn new poetic forms, as an autistic artist, I feel that it’s important to expand your artistic arrows in your quiver, so to speak. Tough as it can be to change, being versatile can be a good thing.

My faith also grounds me as well, as it helps me know that these times are only temporary; that better times are ahead and that suffering builds character, as evidenced by the lives of the Saints.

No doubt about it, these are challenging times, but if we ground ourselves in what we want; what we are passionate about, we can survive and thrive in these times and do better, be better people when this crisis is over.

Never forget that we’re in this together and, as always…

Shine On!

One thought on “Grounding In A Crisis

  1. Hi Brian,
    Thanks for posting this. So many things to do if we stay centered and don’t watch the news too much. We can be helping others just by being there in cyberspace. …..This too shall pass..

    Like

Leave a comment