The Power of The Prompt: Question 21

What strategies do you use to increase comfort in your daily life?

This one, Dear Readers, is a prompt that I feel that I needed some time to think about. After doing so, I was able to think of only a couple of strategies that give me comfort in my daily life.

First, I know I’ve made it clear how important my poetry is to me, but I never realized until dealing with Autistic burnout how much my poetry was helping me deal with my emotions. I guess that’s why I rely on my poetry so much and it’s something that I feel is precious to me.

Thanks to the advice of a wonderful friend, I’ve found myself wearing noise cancelling headphones around my home. Much in the same way that I wear my headphones when I’m doing The Hot Take, I wear my headphones after a long day in order to decompress, to help me focus on my chores as well as the task at hand.

I’ve also realized that being kind to myself is something that I need to do more often, both at work and in my personal life. In the past, I’ve been very hard on myself and I know I’m not alone.

Neurotypicals have no idea how hard it is to fit into their world, or having to work twice as hard to fit in at the cost of whom they are. That’s what I’ve been doing and I feel the need to change that, to show that I do belong.

Even though I need to be kind to myself and rest when I need to, I try to get things done on my days off, but the pressures not there, it’s like the weight of the world is off my shoulders. I get my chores done, I go for a drive, I take care of things I need to get done, but driving for me is a strategy for me. It’s how I kept sane during the midst of the Coronavirus chaos and it’s something I don’t take for granted, ever.

My recent episode of Autistic burnout has made me realize how important my strategies are to me. How much they all mean to me to help me deal with this crazy world and I do see that now.

So, there we have it, another prompt done, so until next post, stay safe, stay strong and, as always…

Shine On!!!!

Leave a comment