Memories of a Sweet Soiree

https://www.timesunion.com/seen/article/seen-greater-hudson-region-s-22nd-annual-18805360.php

This past March, Dear Readers, I was invited to a wonderful event which I promoted here on The Autistic SuperBlog : The Soirée for Autism.

A bit of backstory is needed to explain why I was at the event. As you all know, Dear Readers, I have been dealing with Autistic Burnout and I’m slowly but surely getting through it.

I needed to make changes in my life, practicing self advocacy, self care and cutting my hours at my job. This was possible due to the support of my friends, including Janine Krusjik, the Executive Director of the Autism Society of the Greater Hudson Region.

At least that’s true as of the time I’m writing this post, as she’s stepping down from that role.

I’d like to say that Janine is a wonderful person whom sees the best in everyone, myself included. She always has this ability to make anyone feel better about themselves. Simply put, I’m very proud to call her my friend.

That, of course, brings me to the Soirée last Friday, she invited myself and my dear friend, Jas, whom is a big Billy Joel fan like myself, to the event. I’m very happy that I went since there was a big turnout and the spotlight was on the guests, but also on the talents involved, piano players and fellow Spectrumites like myself.

I’ve been on an Autism Society Board before and it wasn’t always a pleasant experience, but this event was a joy. I could feel that I wasn’t being left out of anything. Being involved in this event, I can say that that will always be the case.

Until next post, Dear Readers, please stay safe, stay strong and, as always….

Shine On!!!

One thought on “Memories of a Sweet Soiree

Leave a comment